This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about our use of cookies click here OK
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about our use of cookies click here. OK
The Oram Awards

The Oram Awards

Presented by PRS Foundation and The New BBC Radiophonic Workshop, the Oram Awards recognise emerging artists in the fields of music, sound and related technologies in honour of the BBC Radiophonic Workshop’s Daphne Oram, and other pioneering women in music and sound.

Named after Daphne Oram, one of the founding members of the original BBC Radiophonic Workshop, the awards hope to build on her legacy. Daphne worked at the workshop with others including Delia Derbyshire, Glynis Jones, Jenyth Worsley, Maddalena Fagandini and Elizabeth Parker, creating music for the distant future, the distant past and inside the mind.  She played a vital role in establishing women at the forefront of innovation, in newly emerging audio technologies, in the UK and around the world. Fast forward to 2018 and whilst there are many women innovating in music and sound, their work and their voices often struggle to be heard and we’re missing the opportunity to celebrate role models for the next generation.

The 2017 Oram Awards  winners were Claire M Singer, Mary Stark, Elvin Brandhi, Kathy Hinde, Sally Golding and Shelly Knotts with Ewa Justka and Klein.

The 2018 awards ceremony was on Friday 20th July at the Jodrell Bank Telescope as part of Bluedot Festival. It was hosted by BBC Radio 3 and BBC 6Music’s Elizabeth Alker with the awards being presented by American singer Ana Matronic.

On BBC Radio 3 Late Junction on Tuesday 17th July, Max Reinhardt announced the 2018 winners live on air:

AJA a practising producer and performer with over 10 years experience working across many different genres, exploring avant garde processes and pushing sonic and physical boundaries.

Georgia Rodgersa composer of music for instruments and electronics for over eight years, starting at the University of Edinburgh during her studies in physics and music.

Hannah Catherine Jones / Foxy Moron a trained performer for the piano, violin, viola, percussion and voice. Performing in various orchestral ensembles, choirs and as a soloist, Hannah also composes music using the theremin.

Francine Perrya freelance producer and sound engineer and the studio manager at Dalston Studios. She has worked on a number of compositions, scores, collaborations, and live sets – both as the solo project La Leif, and her main collaboration, Orka.

Loraine Jamesa music creator who started making music at the age of 11 with her Casio keyboard. After leaving secondary school Loraine learned about DAWs and midi equipment and has been making electronic music ever since.